Regular?

I always thought I would become a regular somewhere. I do go to coffee shops quite often. Ever since Mark and I moved town we’ve have been trying to be more frugal with our money. We eat breakfast and dinner at home, and we’re running one vehicle.

I get dropped off at Starbucks every morning to work on my writing, and then walk to work from there. In the past two weeks, I have become a regular. The people I see every morning great me with a wave, smile, and sometimes a joke. The baristas ask me if I would like my usual, a regular tall in a grande cup…lots of room for milk. With coffee in hand; I write.

Problems with everyone getting used to you… 

There is a problem with being a regular when you want to work in a coffee shop. People like to talk to you. I’m a bubbly person and love a good laugh…I also get swept away in conversation. Today, I talked with another regular about…I don’t remember how it started, but the conversation led to Christmas, and how people with certain faiths don’t celebrate Halloween. I told him, “I don’t get it. I much rather Halloween; you dress up and share candy with the village. People don’t go bankrupt buying candy, are far less stressed out, and happy. People at Christmas time are overstressed, dig into money that they spend all year to pay back, and are miserable. All for one day. Halloween doesn’t start three months before the one day. Christmas is madness. Halloween is simple, sweet, and fun.” -Random Wednesday morning conversation.

When you want to get work done before 8 it can be challenging with all this attention. I usually cut the conversation somewhere after ten minutes. I may have lost that writing time, but it’s nice to start the day with a smile.

Today’s writing mood, morning style: It’s a great day to be an author. I got this.

Novel: Wicked Soul Ascension

What do you think?

