Lost in the Sea of Written Souls

If someone came up to me and told me that writing the book was going to be the easiest part of writing a book I would have gave them a grin of disbelief.

A book is a piece of the soul the author has given out to the world to cast judgment. Whether you like the book or not; be kind. It’s hard work pumping out thousands upon thousands of words. If you enjoyed the story, or not, I beg you to leave a review somewhere. Let others readers know why you did or didn’t like it. Any review is better than no review at all.

My first novel Wicked Soul Ascension made its way into the light November 2016. It hit it’s high in the first few months. For a first time author, I thought the feedback was overwhelming. I got all these phone calls about my story. The rollercoaster that the book took them on left them begging me for more. I kindly asked them if they loved the story, please leave a review. Any review is better than none at all. Leave it where ever you like, just please leave one. I remembered from earlier research about marketing Wicked Soul Ascension to ask for them. They said once the readers read a book, a review is the last thing on the mind. Out of the 250 books that are out there the most reviews I have in one spot is two…that’s not enough to get a new reader into a new author.

Why a review is important from the reader to a reader?

If I were to buy a book; 99 cents? $3.99? $20.00? I would like to know if the author can write. Times are tough for the average¬†person. We’ve come to notice every cent that leaves our pocket to make sure that it is spent wisely. If I don’t know the author, how do I know if the story is worth my money? A review lets me know that my money is worth giving to this author. The same thing goes for anyone that is selling indie merchandise. If you buy music, you’d like to make sure the songs are worth the money?

This is where the dead months begin. I have now begun to think out of the box in hopes that maybe I’d land a sale. If the right person finds my story, who knows what would happen to it. I know that my blogs are my raw writing. I don’t care for my own…all natural writing. I edit it a bit, but not in with the intensity my novels get. This is me in black and white. This may be dangerous to do as it might harm people’s view of my work, but I’m going out on the broken limb.

The Sea of Souls has Many Covers.

There are countless amounts of books in the world that have been published, unpublished, hidden, written and burned, and who knows what has happened to all of these stories. These tiny pieces of souls that have been scattered around the world…and mine is in there. Lost with a tiny title with a unique cover to help if stick out from the crowd. One day it may make its mark. Or, maybe it won’t. I know that it’s little family will grow around it with others members written by C. B. Dixon.

I’ve dipped my toe into the chilly waters of the published world. Even though the plunge is discouraging. I know that I will swallow the twitch to run the other way. I will jump in, eyes open, to observe every moment that will pass me by.

This is My Choice. This is My Life. I Will Enjoy Every Breath. Every Heart Beat. 

Right now for a limited time Wicked Soul Ascension is available for free on Wattpad. Here’s the link: Wicked Soul Ascension on Wattpad

 

What do you think?

